Home arrow Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees Print E-mail

Legally, DeKalb County Public Library is a state chartered governmental organization governed by a Board of Trustees. DCPL also operates as a Department of DeKalb County Georgia.

Trustees are appointed to public library boards to formulate policy, administer funds, and govern library service to the community. Trustees work for the betterment of the library system.

The governing body of DeKalb County Public Library is the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees is composed of citizens from DeKalb County who are appointed by governmental agencies supporting the library on a regular basis.

The Board of Trustees approves library budgets and assumes responsibility for presenting the fiscal needs of the library system to funding agencies.

The Board of Trustees establishes policies for library services and programs, sets policies for receipt of gifts of money and property, and plans for long-range library development.

The Board of Trustees employs the Library Director and evaluates the performance of the Director. Authority for technical administration and supervision of the library system is vested in the Library Director.

The Library Board of Trustees normally meets during the months of January, March, May, July, August, October and December. The Board Chair presides.

Member Appointing Agency  
Ms. Julia H. Jones (Chair) DeKalb County  
Dr. Curtis Clark (Vice Chair) DeKalb County  
Ms. Carol Morgan (Treasurer) City of Decatur  
Mr. Jon Abercrombie DeKalb County  
Ms. Sara Fountain DeKalb County  
Ms. Louella Jenkins City of Doraville  
Ms. Elizabeth Joyner DeKalb County  
Mr. Lee May ex officio DeKalb County  
Judge Desiree Sutton Peagler DeKalb County  
Ms. Belinda Pedroso DeKalb County  
Ms. Deborah Torbush DeKalb County  
Mr. Zachary Williams ex officio DeKalb County  

2013-2014 Schedule of Meetings:

Meeting Date: Meeting Location:
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 Library Administrative Center
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 Northlake-Barbara Loar Library
Tuesday, March 11, 2014 Library Administrative Center
Tuesday, May 20, 2014 Covington Library
Tuesday, June 26, 2014 (Executive Committee meeting at 4:30 p.m.) Library Administrative Center
Tuesday, July 8, 2014 Library Administrative Center

Monday, August 11, 2014 (Rescheduled from August 12)

Library Administrative Center
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 Library Administrative Center
Tuesday, December 9, 2014 Library Administrative Center

Recently on DCPLive…

Who We Are

We're a library serving DeKalb County, Georgia.

DeKalb County Public Library
Decatur Library, Main Branch
215 Sycamore Street
Decatur, Georgia 30030

Find Us On...

Our flickr Page Our Facebook Page Our Pinterest Page

Our YouTube Videos Our twitter Page

We Want to Hear From You

Please help us plan for the future by taking our survey. You can fill it out online or pick up a copy at any branch today. Thank you!

Yes, I would like to participate in the survey.

No, I've already participated in the survey.

No thanks.