Use the resources below to explore the world of art history. If you are interested in a particular artist or the art of a particular time period, look in the 700s of the non-fiction section for books and audiovisual materials.
Last updated 07/19/2010
- EBSCO Images
EBSCO Images provides thousands of images from public domain sources.
- New Georgia Encyclopedia
The New Georgia Encyclopedia is an authoritative source on the people, places, events, and institutions of Georgia. The site contains nearly 2,000 articles and more than 5,000 images and audio and video clips on the history, culture, and life of the state. To find information about Georgia's Folk Art, click on the Folklife selection from the left column.
- African-American Art
From its origins in early 18th century slave communities to the end of the 20th century, African-American art has made a vital contribution to the art of the United States. This book provides a major reassessment of the subject, setting the art in the context of the African-American experience.
- Art : a history of painting, sculpture, architecture
A classic introduction to art history. This edition also adds 102 more color illustrations, bringing the total to 462 in color, 1,416 overall.
- Art History
Reaching beyond the West to include a critical examination of the arts of other regions and cultures, it covers not only paintings and sculpture but also architecture, drawings, photographs, works in metal and ceramics, textiles, and jewelry. Illustrated with about 1,350 photographs and hundreds of line drawings. This is a reference title and must be used in the library.
- The Collins Big Book of Art
A beautiful, unusual and engaging compendium of art history, providing an accessible entree into the world of art for everyone, regardless of their experience. With more than 1200 works of art represented this chronology spans the history of art, step by step, from 38,000 BC to the present.
- Art History Resources on the Web
A compilation of resources related to art and art history created by Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe, Professor, Dept. of Art History at Sweet Briar College, Virginia.
- Art Source
A central site for art and architecture-related material on the Internet, it includes information on general resources and bibliographies, architecture resources, art/architecture programs and libraries, electronic exhibitions, image collections, museum listings, organizations, online journals and more.
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian
Search the The Inventories of American Painting & Sculpture to find more than 400,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide. Explore the collections at the various art museums that are part of the Smithsonian Institution. Or, learn how to find out more about the art you own.
- Google Images
A comprehensive and free image search on the web.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Part of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, this site includes timelines from 8000 b.c. to present arranged geographically. Key events and works of art are highlighted. Site also includes essays on artists and art in various contexts.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional