Home arrow Research arrow Subject Guides

Subject Guides Print E-mail

Book Clubs

Are you interested in starting a book club? Do you already belong to a book club, but need help selecting books? Do you want to make your discussions more lively?

The resources below will give your book club a boost. Also, check out DCPL’s Book Group Take-Out kits for adults and Book Buddies Take-Out kits for kids. Each kit contains 10-12 copies of the book and a discussion guide. There is no charge to use them and the checkout period for each kit is eight weeks.  

Last updated 12/01/2012

Databases

  • Literature Criticism Online

    A great source for literary criticism and extensive author biographies.

  • Literature Resources from Gale

    Look here for literary criticism, author interviews, and book summaries.

  • NoveList

    A terrific source for book clubs. Find recommended reading lists by genre, book discussion guides, author read-a-likes, series listings, and more. For readers of all ages.

Catalog Links

  • The Book Bunch

    Includes information about structuring a basic book club program as well as over twenty programs for a variety of subjects, reading levels and book lengths.



  • Book Club Companion

    This book is full of innovative ideas to help you share your love of books. Includes fun and witty suggestions for members, hosts and groups looking to spice up their meetings.



  • Book Club Cookbook

    Features recipes and food-related discussion ideas for one hundred popular book club selections. 



  • Good Books Lately

    Includes information on how to start a group and how to keep it going.  Also covers common problems faced by book clubs and guidance on how to elicit a good conversation about a literary work.



  • Juvenile and Young Adult Reading Lists and Award Winners

    This page in the DCPL Catalog features links to award winners and other reading lists. It includes lists of current nominees for the Georgia Children's Book Award, Georgia Children's Storybook Award and Peach Award for Teen Readers.  

  • Kids' Book Club Book

    Features the top fifty favorite book club reads for children ages eight to eighteen, ideas and advice on forming great kids' book clubs and tips for kids who want to start their own book clubs.



  • Read It and Eat

    A guide to creating book club get-togethers.  Features fiction and nonfiction reading selections ranging from timeless classics to irresistible beach reads, and recipes for easy-to-prepare (and easy-to-transport) cocktails, finger foods, sit-down dinners, and snacks.



Web Links

  • The Big Read

    Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts, this program was designed to restore reading to the center of American culture by encouraging people to read for pleasure and enlightenment. The initiative includes innovative reading programs in selected cities and towns, comprehensive resources for discussing classic literature and an extensive Web site providing comprehensive information on authors and their works. Click on the "Communities" link to learn about Big Reads in your area.

  • Georgia Center for the Book

    The Georgia Center for the Book is the state affiliate of the Center for the Book at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. and is hosted by DeKalb County Public Library. The Center’s mission is the support of libraries, literary programs and literature.

  • Great Books

    The Great Books Foundation has been guiding book groups for adults and children since 1947. Visit their site to find a Great Books discussion in your area, or get information on how to start a new group.

  • Literature Map

    Part of the Gnod site, this site uses algorithms to identify authors you might enjoy reading based on a single question about your favorite author. 

  • LitLovers

    This site is devoted to book clubs.  Find reading guides, lists of favorite book club selections, resources for children’s book groups, and ideas for entertaining.

Not all information available on this subject is listed; this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional information.

 

 

Recently on DCPLive…

Who We Are

We're a library serving DeKalb County, Georgia.

DeKalb County Public Library
215 Sycamore Street
Decatur, Georgia 30030
404-370-8450

Find Us On...

Our flickr Page Our Facebook Page

Our YouTube Videos Our twitter Page
x

We Want to Hear From You

Please help us plan for the future by taking our survey. You can fill it out online or pick up a copy at any branch today. Thank you!

Yes, I would like to participate in the survey.

No, I've already participated in the survey.

No thanks.