Animals
If you are interested in learning about animals, DCPL can help. You can access our online databases or check out books in our branches for every level of interest. So, whether you are working on a report for school or want to know more about the interesting animals at Zoo Atlanta, check out the resources below. And if you are browsing in the library, books on specific animals can be found in the 590-599 call number range.
Last updated 10/01/2012Databases- EBSCO Images
Enhance your report with pictures of animals from this database. Be sure to limit your results to natural science photos to eliminate sports teams named after animals.
 - Grolier Online Passport
This online children's encyclopedia contains basic information on many species of animals, as well as reviewed web links to animal-specific sites.
- Student Resources in Context
Check here if you are looking for animals in the news. For example, you can research how climate change affects various habitats, or the causes and consequences of animal hoarding.
Catalog Links Animals : a children's encyclopedia
Authoritative and accessible, this guide to the animal kingdom catalogs everything from aardvarks to zebras. Stunning action photography captures animals in living color and in their real habitats.
Encyclopedia of Animals
This comprehensive volume introduces the entire animal kingdom: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, and all kinds of invertebrates, from sea squirts to worms and spiders.
Hope for Animals and Their World
Written by renowned primatologist Jane Goodall, this book is an inspiring compilation of wildlife conservation success stories, collected during her extensive global travels. The author offers accounts of people and groups who have worked tirelessly to save several species on the brink of extinction.
Web Links- Animal Sounds Library
Add some interest and noise to your report by including a link to the sound an animal makes in the wild with a sound file from this site.
- Georgia Wildlife Web
This site is a project of the Georgia Museum of Natural History. The largest part of the site is a well organized listing of species that are native to Georgia. Each species page includes a physical description, life cycle information, a graphic that shows where the animal can be found in the state and current conservation status.
- Smithsonian National Zoological Park
This site contains lots of information about the 400 different species of animals residing at the National Zoo in Washington, D.C. There are also photo galleries, as well as live "Animal Cams" for many of the exhibits.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional
information.
|