Bicycles & Riding
May is National Bike Month and May 16, 2014, is National Bike to Work Day. Bicycles are a great form of transportation & recreation. The resources below offer places to ride, skills needed, bicycle maintenance, safety concerns and laws regarding cycling.
Last updated 05/01/2014
- MasterFILE Elite at EBSCOhost
MasterFILE Elite is a database that provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,000 publications as well as full text for over 1,000 journals and general magazines covering nearly all subjects including bicycling.
- Awesome Freestyle BMX Tricks & Stunts
Describes tricks performed by professional freestyle BMX riders.
- Bicycling, a Reintroduction
Interest in bicycling is growing rapidly, with worldwide industry sales up 10 to 25% per year over the past decade. There are currently 450 million bicycles owned in the US, with over 60 million adult riders. Interest in commuting (gas prices), health and fitness (boomers retiring), and environmental concerns (zero emissions) are converging to make bicycling a subject area of continued high read more >>
- Comlete Bike Maintenance
The best-selling bicycle maintenance book is back in an expanded, revised, and updated edition. This new edition includes the latest equipment from Shimano, Campagnolo, and SRAM as well as substantial sections on hub gears and the various types of bottom bracket/chainset combinations. With its step-by-step photos, it gives any rider the confidence and knowledge required to tackle regula read more >>
- The Enlightened Cyclist: Commuter Angst, Dangerous Drivers, and Other Obstacles on the Path to Two-Wheeled Transcendence
Following up the bestselling "Bike Snob," BikeSnob NYC takes on the trials and triumphs of bike commuting with snark, humor, and enthusiasm. From the deadly sins of biking to tactics for dealing with cars, this primer is a must-read for cyclists new and seasoned alike. read more >>
- It's All About the Bike: The Pursuit of Happiness on Two Wheels
Robert Penn has saddled up nearly every day of his adult life. In his late twenties, he pedaled 25,000 miles around the world. Today he rides to get to work, sometimes for work, to bathe in air and sunshine, to travel, to go shopping, to stay sane, and to skip bath time with his kids. He's no Sunday pedal pusher. So when the time came for a new bike, he decided to pull out all the stops. read more >>
- Smart Cycling: Promoting Safety, Fun, Fitness, and the Environment
This book is ideal for new cyclists who need help building their skills before they take to the road. Smart Cycling is good introduction to cycling for anyone interested for fun, fitness, or transportation.
- Atlanta BeltLine
The Atlanta BeltLine is a sustainable project that is providing a network of public parks, multi-use trails and transit by re-using 22-miles of historic railroad corridors circling downtown and connecting 45 Atlanta neighborhoods directly to each other.
- Atlanta Bicycle Coalition
The Atlanta Bicycle Coalition is the Atlanta area's largest non-profit bicycling advocate. This group promotes bicycle transportation and use, including advocacy and rider education.
- Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety in Georgia
The Georgia Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Center strives to be the online clearinghouse for information regarding safety laws, events, suggestions, and tips for bicyclists and pedestrians around the state. Working with our safety partners, both in government and the local community at large, it is hoped that this site will be comprehensive resource to educate Georgians on bicycle and pedestrian issues.
- Bicycle Suitability Map
The City of Decatur and Bike Decatur have created this map, which identifies roadways using three bicycle difficulty rankings with the intention of assisting cyclists in choosing suitable routes to desired destinations in and around Decatur.
- Communicycle Co-op
Communicycle Co-op is 'a group of people united by our love for two-wheeled transportation and the communities of Chamblee, Doraville, and Clarkston on the northeast side of metro Atlanta. We ride bikes for transportation and for fun. We fix broken bikes. We repair and redistribute donated bikes to folks who need transportation.'
- Dick Lane Velodrome
Constructed in 1974, the Dick Lane Velodrome was inspired by a group of residents and City officials that visited the Munich Olympics. Located eight miles south of downtown Atlanta, the Dick Lane Velodrome is a 1/5 of a mile and 36° banked concrete track for bicycle racing.
- Faster Mustache
Faster Mustache is a progressive non-organization made up of a diverse group of Atlanta residents with one thing in common: riding bicycles. We believe in the power of cyclists to change our communities and our world through ongoing discussion, entertaining events, and positive action.
- Georgia Department of Transportation's Bicycle and Pedestrian Programs
The Georgia DOT’s Bicycle & Pedestrian Program incorporates a broad range of programs and initiatives throughout the state, offering technical assistance, engineering and planning guidance, public information, and educational materials and programs for cyclists, walkers, and visitors in Georgia.
- Georgia Bikes!
Georgia Bikes works to improve bicycling conditions and promote bicycling throught the state.
- Map My Ride
Map My Ride uses built-in GPS technology to provide cyclists with the ability to map, record and share their routes in an online database. In addition, users have access to a searchable database of over 70 million global routes, online training tools, nutrition tracking, fitness calculators, event listings, and the ability to easily share their activities with friends.
- PATH Foundation
Since 1991, the PATH Foundation has created over 160 miles of trails for walkers, runners, cyclists, & skaters.
- Silver Comet Trail
The Silver Comet Trail is located 13 miles northwest of Atlanta, Georgia. It's free of charge, and travels west through Cobb, Paulding, and Polk counties. This quiet, non-motorized, paved trail is for walkers, hikers, bicyclists, rollerbladers, horses, dog walkers, and is wheelchair accessible.
- SOPO Bicycle Cooperative
The SOPO Bicycle Cooperative is a nonprofit organization that facilitates the collective ownership and operation of a community bicycle repair shop located at 586 Woodward Avenue in Atlanta.
- Southern Off-Road Bicycle Association
The Southern Off-Road Bicycle Association (SORBA) is the largest nonprofit mountain biking organization in the Southeast. Members work with land managers in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee to create trails and trail systems for mountain bikers and other users to enjoy. Through advocacy, education, and recreational opportunities, SORBA carries out its mission to promote land access, trail preservation, and new trail development in order to enhance mountain bike touring, racing, fun, and fellowship for all mountain bicyclists in the southeastern United States.
- Southern Bicycle League
Through fun, fitness and friendship, the Southern Bicycle League’s mission is to link the bicycle community together and inspire more people to ride bicycles more often. The purpose of our mission is to facilitate the building of bicycle friendly communities and greater health and fitness through bicycling. The Southern Bicycle League provides a range of activities and benefits that help cyclists of all levels to learn and get more enjoyment out of the sport.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional