This subject guide is broad in scope. The books and databases recommended here primarily contain information about various types of disabilities, while the web links direct the user to agencies which provide resources for individuals and families who are living with a disability.
Last updated 10/01/2012
- Consumer Health Complete
Go to this database to find articles on disabilities from a medical perspective.
- MasterFILE Elite at EBSCO Host
MasterFILE Elite is a database that provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,000 publications as well as full text for over 1,000 journals and general magazines covering nearly all subjects including disabilities.
- The Alzheimer's Answer Book
This resource helps to explain medical jargon and gives straightforward answers to your most pressing questions.
- Learning Disability Sourcebook
The subtitle goes on for 11 conditions, some of them overlapping somewhat. Information is also provided about brain function, assessment, therapy and remediation, legal protections, school transitions, employment strategies, and other matters. Like other volumes in the series, this is a collection of articles, pamphlets, government reports, and other texts from a wide range of sources, compi read more >>
- The Everyday Advocate: Standing Up for Your Child with Autism
Nationally recognized expert on autism advocacy Areva Martin shares her hard-won knowledge as a parent of an autistic child and an individual rights attorney. In The Everyday Advocate , she lays out vital and relevant step-by-step instructions to parents facing the seemingly impossible odds of advocating for a child with autism. Parents n read more >>
- Job Search Handbook for People with Disabilities
This resource covers self-assessment, exploring options, building paperwork, searching traditional and alternate sources, creating networks, and mastering interview etiquette. It also includes tips on handling application forms and awkward questions from the front desk, explaining gaps in experience, and surviving rejection.
- Learning Disabilities : A to Z
This book highlights recent research for parents, teachers, and care givers who are responsible for children with information-processing problems. Practical strategies are provided to help youngsters with learning disabilities become successful, from their earliest days in preschool, through the college years and beyond.
- Making Sense of Autistic Spectrum Disorders
Experts on early child development give caregivers of children on the autistic spectrum the knowledge they need to navigate the complex maze of symptoms, diagnoses, tests, and treatment options that await them. Practical guidance is given that will help you help your child with ASD through every phase of life.
- Mental Retardation Doesn't Mean "Stupid"!
This book dispels many myths regarding mental retardation and its implications for an individual's future. It also explores education, residential programs, vocational options, social skills, trust funds, sexuality, the rights of parents and other concerns in raising a child with cognitive difficulties.
- The Complete Book of Insurance: Understand the Coverage You Really Need
Use this guide to learn about the various levels and types of health insurance so you can find a plan that fits your unique needs.
- Alliance for Technology Access
The ATA is a national network of community-based resource centers, product developers, vendors, service providers, and individuals. It provides information and support services to children and adults with disabilities, and work to increase their use of technology.
- American Foundation for the Blind
The American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) is a national nonprofit that expands possibilities for people with vision loss. AFB's priorities include broadening access to technology; elevating the quality of information and tools for the professionals who serve people with vision loss; and promoting independent and healthy living for people with vision loss by providing them and their families with relevant and timely resources.
- Assistive Technology Devices - Georgia (gTRADE)
gTRADE is an online database where persons may list assistive technology items for sale, donation, or things they need. Assistive technology recycling provides an opportunity for those in need to access assistive technology items no longer needed by others.
- DBTAC Southeast ADA Center
The ADA National Network provides information, guidance and training on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), tailored to meet the needs of business, government and individuals at local, regional and national levels. The ADA National Network consists of ten Regional ADA National Network Centers located throughout the United States that provides personalized, local assistance to ensure that the ADA is implemented wherever possible.
- disABILITY Link
disABILITY LINK is committed to promoting the rights of all people with disabilities.
- Disability Resource Group (formerly known as the Georgia ADA Exchange)
The group operates a disability-related help line, provides couseling, resource informa-
tion, and technical assistance on disability laws, as well as they conduct workshops on a variety of disability related topics.
This site provides quick and easy access to comprehensive information about disability programs, services, laws and benefits.
- Job Accommodation Network
The Job Accommodation Network (JAN) is the leading source of free, expert, and confidential guidance on workplace accommodations and disability employment issues. Working toward practical solutions that benefit both employer and employee, JAN helps people with disabilities enhance their employability, and shows employers how to capitalize on the value and talent that people with disabilities add to the workplace.
- Learning Ally
This is a national nonprofit, volunteer organization that has been the leading producer of accessible audiobooks for students with disabilities, such as visual impairment or dyslexia that make reading standard print difficult or impossible. Formerly known as the the Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic. Register online for free access to the nation's largest audiobook library of textbooks and literature titles.
- National Organization on Disability
The National Organization on Disability (NOD) is commited to expanding the participation and contribution of America’s 54 million men, women and children with disabilities in all aspects of life by raising disability awareness through programs and information.
- U.S. Department of Labor Disability Webpage
The Department of Labor's Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP) seeks to increase employment opportunities for people with disabilities by expanding access to training, education, employment supports, assistive technology, integrated employment, entrepreneurial development, and small-business opportunities.
- Georgia Council on Developmental Disabilities
The Georgia Council on Developmental Disabilities is a federally funded, independent state agency that serves as a leading catalyst for systems change for individuals and families living with developmental disabilities. Through public policy initiatives, advocacy programs and community building, GCDD promotes and creates opportunities to enable persons with disabilities.
- Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities
This state department provides support to people with mental retardation and related developmental disabilities.
- GLASS: Georgia Library for Accessible Statewide Services
Through the Georgia Libraries for Accessible Statewide Services (GLASS), Georgia’s Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped and cooperating local libraries, Georgians have access to a free national library program that offers books and magazines on cassette tape and in Braille.The materials are provided to eligible persons with a visual or physical disability. All reading material and playback equipment is sent to borrowers and returned by postage-free mail.
- State of Georgia ADA Coordinator's Office
The ADA Coordinator’s Office serves as a resource for statewide information regarding the American with Disabilities Act, programs and service for those with disabilities and a clearinghouse to additional information on disabilities and the law.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional