The databases, books and websites recommended here primarily contain information about automobiles, including their maintenance and repair or values. Most automobile-related books, DVDs or audiobooks in the Library are in the 629 call number range of the non-fiction section.
Last updated 01/21/2014
- Auto Repair Reference Center
Auto Repair Reference Center (ARRC) contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. ARRC includes coverage of more than 37,000 vehicles from 1945 to present, millions of drawings and step-by-step photographs, specifications & maintenance schedules, labor time guide & estimator, and diagnostic information.
- MasterFile ELITE at EBSCOhost
MasterFILE Elite provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,000 publications as well as complete articles for over 1,000 journals and general magazines, such as Consumer Reports and Motor Trend, covering nearly all subjects including cars and trucks.
- Car : The Definitive Visual History of the Automobile
Tracing the history of the automobile, from the first prototypes to the super cars of today, Car covers the technological developments and manufacture of cars, the cultural backdrop against which the various models arose, and the enduring impact the car has had on society as an object of curiosity, symbol of luxury, and item of necessity.
- Chilton General Motors Service Manual
Chilton's editors put together current automotive repair information to assist users during daily repairs. This 2010 edition, three-volume set (available for use inside the Library only) allows users to accurately and efficiently diagnose and repair late-model cars and trucks. The Library also has other editions, published at different times or targeted for different makes or imports, wh read more >>
- Engines of Change: A History of the American Dream in Fifteen Cars
A cultural history that explores how cars have both propelled and reflected the American experience-- from the Model T to the Prius. From the assembly lines of Henry Ford to the open roads of Route 66, from the lore of Jack Kerouac to the sex appeal of the Hot Rod, America's hist read more >>
- Gas Smarts: Hundreds of Small Ways to Save Big at the Pump
Author Ron Weiers offers advice to help save money with driving. Whether behind the wheel, planning a trip, researching a new vehicle, or considering adding aftermarket accessories to a car, this book has the information needed to drive efficiently, safely, and as inexpensively as possible.
- Haynes Automotive Heating and Air Condition Systems Manual
Written for the do-it-yourselfer, good enough for the pro. Includes everything you wish to know about your vehicle's heating and air conditioning. From simple adjustments, to complete tune-ups and troubleshooting.
- The Auto Channel
Self proclaimed as "the largest independent automotive information resource," this site shares automotive news, reviews and forums for discussion.
The “Be Car Care Aware” campaign is a consumer education program about the benefits of regular vehicle care, maintenance and repair, designed to provide knowledge from all segments of the automotive aftermarket industry.
- Car Buying Tips
This website shares lots of information needed when buying a new or used car, including dealer costs, financing options, warranties and negotiating tips.
- Car Stuff
The website companion for the popular podcast series, Car Stuff, offers information on new and classic cars, repairs, new technology and more.
- Car Talk
This is the website for the popular NPR show, Car Talk, featuring the advice of Click and Clack.
- Fuel Economy
The United States Department of Energy lists how much fuel a vehicle uses, as well as offers comparisons between models, advice on how to improve gas mileage and new technology regarding fuel efficiency.
- Georgia Department of Driver Services
The Department of Driver Services issues Georgia driver's licenses, learning permits and state identification cards. There are links to the driver's manual, teen driving laws and safety training, defensive driving information and to Georgia Navigator for information on road conditions.
- Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
According to the website, "The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) is an independent, nonprofit scientific and educational organization dedicated to reducing the losses — deaths, injuries and property damage — from crashes on the nation's roads." Also referenced on the site is the Highway Loss Data Institute, which lists insurance loss data by vehicle make and model.
Use this site to determine the value of a vehicle and to read expert and consumer reviews, as well as side-by-side comparisons of cars.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
A division of the United States Department of Transportation, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) lists vehicle recalls, child safety regulations, statistical information regarding driving and vehicle safety, and much more.
- National Safety Council: Safety on the Road
As stated on the website, "The role of National Safety Council (NSC) is not only to educate drivers of all vehicle types, but to monitor crash trends. When drivers engage in behaviors that increase crash rates and risks, NSC takes action." This site shares information on defensive driving and teen driving.
- Older Drivers
Information from the National Institute of Aging includes a list of changes over time that may affect driving skills as a person grows older, plus tips for safe driving.
- Teen Driver Source
Presented by the Center for Injury Research and Prevention at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute, this website offers advice on how to prevent teen automotive accidents and promotes safe driving.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional