Georgia Facts and History
Are you working on a Georgia project for school? Do you need lots of facts and information about the population, land regions, history and symbols of Georgia? You can find all that and more at the library!
Last updated 11/01/2012
- Digital Library of Georgia
Again, part of the GALILEO collection of databases, this online library provides access to a wealth of information about the state of Georgia via the Internet.
- New Georgia Encyclopedia
Accessible through GALILEO under the Database search for the letter "N." This database is a searchable online encyclopedia for everything to do with Georgia. You'll find articles, pictures and primary sources in this excellent source for reports.
- A Historical Album of Georgia
Historical Albums are illustrated accounts of the fifty American states. Beginning with the Native American civilizations in each of the territories, these books go on to cover European exploration and settlement, early statehood, and present-day issues and events. Each state's story is richly illustrated with prints, photographs, documents and historical maps.
- Re-launch of the highly successful series The Thirteen Colonies.
- Four-color illustrations, photographs. Timelines, and activities, enhance student experience.
- Series targeted directly to the grade children study the colonization of America (5th)
- At 128 pages, this book provides the most in-depth coverage of the subject matter for this age group. (Competing series by Child's Wor read more >>
- Georgia: A State History
- Georgia: The Debtors Colony
The English colony of Georgia was the product of specific goals. First, England hoped to provide its most impoverished citizens opportunities for land and a new life. Second, the frontier needed a military buffer between Charles Town, the southernmost settlement, and the Spanish in Florida. Third, it certainly wouldn't hurt if the Georgia settlers produced raw materials and goods to export to E read more >>
- The Georgia Studies Book: Our State and the Nation
A textbook that introduces the history, geography, and politics of Georgia.
- The World Book Encyclopedia
- 50States.com: Georgia
This site offers easy listing of general state facts and information (i.e., population, state nickname, state flag, state bird, state song, etc.) that can be used for school assignments.
- ClassBrain.com: State Reports
ClassBrain.com provides a lot of information an elementary student might need to complete a state report project. You can even "Ask ClassBrain" any questions you might have.
- Georgia Wildlife Web
This site is a project of the Georgia Museum of Natural History. The largest part of the site is a well organized listing of species that are native to Georgia. Each species page includes a physical description, life cycle information, a graphic that shows where the animal can be found in the state and current conservation status.
Government website for the state of Georgia, this site has everything you might need to learn about Georgia's leaders and state agencies.
- Kidspace @ the Internet Public Library: Stately Knowledge
This page is dedicated to all the 50 states. It gives you all the basic facts and symbols for each state, but also provides links to other excellent sites for all the states. Just click on Georgia to get all the facts you will need for your next project.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional