Countries (history/gov't/stats)
Are you researching a country for a school project? Do you need lots of facts on people, places, and important events on that country? The library can help you find all of that information and more!
Books on countries are located in the 900s in the non-fiction section of the library. Check these call numbers to find the country you are looking for:
-
940 Europe
-
950 Asia
-
960 Asia
-
970 North America
-
980 South America
-
990 Australia and other areas
Last updated 04/19/2013Databases- Grolier Online Passport
Lands and Peoples section of this encyclopedia gives information on countries, cultures, and current events worldwide. Also has atlases, games, and quizzes! - Student Resources in Context
Links to references, such as Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations Online, facts, recent newspaper and magazine articles, and primary sources about specific countries.
Catalog Links Afghanistan
Visit a landlocked land of rugged mountains and rich natural resources. Meet the many peoples within Afghanistan’s tribal societal structure. Learn of Afghanistan’s long history of invasion, resistance, and civil war. Discover why Persian and Pashto prevail in this multilingual land. Find out why this troubled land has been called the "Chessboard of History."
France
"Describes the geography, history, industries, education, government, and cultures of France. Includes maps, charts, and graphs"--Provided by publisher.
India
Discover India's rich tapestry of cultures and religions. See why India is now a world leader in technology. Visit the Ganges—spiritual artery of the nation. Learn about the animals that are sacred in India. Visit the Taj Mahal and discover its romantic origins.
Jamaica
Welcome to Jamaica, the cultural crossroads of the Caribbean. Venture into the heartland of Jamaica, and discover a verdant wonderland of tropical fauna and flora. Get in the groove of reggae, the rocksteady rhythm that conquered the music world. Retrace the island’s storied history of slave-trading, piracy, British Rule, and independence.
Welcome to Iraq
Readers are introduced to the basic geography, topography, history, people, culture, climate, and industries of the Republic of Iraq.
World Book Encyclopedia
Previous editions are recommended in Best Reference Books, Guide to Reference Books, and General Reference Books for Adults. Providing a readable yet detailed reference for students in middle and high school, as well as the general reader, this encyclopedia is updated annually and remains a fascinating read. More than 3800 specialists are involved in writing, reviewing, and fact checking, en read more >>
Previous editions are recommended in Best Reference Books, Guide to Reference Books, and General Reference Books for Adults. Providing a readable yet detailed reference for students in middle and high school, as well as the general reader, this encyclopedia is updated annually and remains a fascinating read. More than 3800 specialists are involved in writing, reviewing, and fact checking, ensuring the reputation of this reliable and up- to-date reference. The illustrations and photos are detailed and plentiful, with many descriptive maps, tables, and drawings. Particularly thorough are entries on large topics, such as architecture, painting, or weather. These entries delve into all aspects of the topics, providing the reader with insights into how buildings are made, for example, and the education required to build them. Such entries include detailed outlines cross-referencing related topics. The large quantity of biographical entries is impressive and entices readers to keep reading. Some of the science entries include an illustrative science project. Volume 22 contains a comprehensive index and a section on how to write papers, give a talk, and carry out research. Annotation ©2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
(show less )
Web Links- BBC Country Profiles
Provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Also includes audio and video clips from the BBC archives.
- CIA World Factbook
Continually updated, detailed facts on every country in the world. Includes reference maps.
- Countries of the World
Locate facts about a country including population, history, and current government officials. - Statesman's Yearbook
An online version of a print reference standard, this site includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population and more.
- Where is That?
How well do you know your Geography? Play Where is That? and identify countries, states, capitals and more in this fun and interactive game for 1 or 2 players!
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional
information.
|