Writing Resources
Do you want to improve your writing? Have you been assigned a paper to write? Not sure where to start? This subject guide has what you need.
Last updated 06/01/2010Catalog Links A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers
This seventh edition of Turabian's "Manual" is a classic reference revised for a new age. It is tailored to a new generation of writers using tools its original author could not have imagined--while retaining the clarity and authority that generations of scholars have come to associate with the name Turabian.
Cite right: a Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and More
In his bestselling guide, Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success, veteran teacher Charles Lipson brought welcome clarity to the principles of academic honesty as well as to the often murky issues surrounding plagiarism in the digital age. Thousands of students have turned to Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sour read more >>
In his bestselling guide, Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success, veteran teacher Charles Lipson brought welcome clarity to the principles of academic honesty as well as to the often murky issues surrounding plagiarism in the digital age. Thousands of students have turned to Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly—and avoid plagiarism—when writing their research papers. With his latest book,Cite Right, Lipson once again provides much-needed counsel in a concise and affordable handbook for students and researchers. Building onDoing Honest Work in College, Lipson’s new book offers a wealth of information on an even greater range of citation styles and details the intricacies of many additional kinds of sources.nbsp; nbsp; Lipson’s introductory essay, “Why Cite,” explains the reasons it is so important to use citations—and to present them accurately—in research writing.nbsp; In subsequent chapters, Lipson explains the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work:nbsp; Chicago; MLA; APA; CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry, mathematics, and computer science); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy;Bluebookand ALWD (law); and AAA (anthropology and ethnography). His discussions of these styles are presented simply and clearly with examples drawnnbsp;from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to science, law, and medicine. nbsp; Based on deep experience in the academic trenches,Cite Rightis an accessible, one-stop resource—a must-have guide for students and researchers alike who need to prepare citations in any of the major disciplines and professional studies.nbsp; (show less ) How to Write A Thesis
"How to Write a Thesis provides a down-to-earth guide to help students shape their theses. It offers valuable advice as well as practical tips and techniques, incorporating useful boxed summaries and checklists to help students stay on track or regain their way. The book is the culmination of many years of work with postgraduates and academics and covers all aspects of the research, writing and read more >>
"How to Write a Thesis provides a down-to-earth guide to help students shape their theses. It offers valuable advice as well as practical tips and techniques, incorporating useful boxed summaries and checklists to help students stay on track or regain their way. The book is the culmination of many years of work with postgraduates and academics and covers all aspects of the research, writing and editing involved in the process of successfully completing a thesis." "In this book, the author moves beyond the basics of thesis writing, introducing practical writing techniques such as freewriting, generative writing and binge writing. This edition now deals with the range of different doctorates on offer and integrates more examples of thesis writing. Building on the success of the evidence-based approach used in the first edition, there is also new coverage of Masters theses and undergraduate research projects, along with outlines of useful generic structures for social science and humanities projects."--BOOK JACKET. (show less ) MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
This authoritative guide published by the Modern Language Association outlines how to document sources in a research paper using MLA style, for scholars and students at universities and secondary schools. It provides advice on all aspects of writing papers, from selecting a topic, the mechanics of writing, and plagiarism, to submitting the paper, abbreviations, and documenting a variety of s read more >>
This authoritative guide published by the Modern Language Association outlines how to document sources in a research paper using MLA style, for scholars and students at universities and secondary schools. It provides advice on all aspects of writing papers, from selecting a topic, the mechanics of writing, and plagiarism, to submitting the paper, abbreviations, and documenting a variety of sources. Reorganized and revised, this edition has been updated to include tips on research and writing in the online environment, simplified guidelines for citing works published on the internet, and new recommendations for citing works such as digital files and graphic narratives. It also has expanded discussion of when documentation is not needed, and revised guidelines for preparing a printed paper, citing works in newspapers and articles in reference works, and the punctuation of titles of works, and techniques for finding reliable sources online. It has a new companion website. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
This is the new edition of the Modern Language Association's handbook, the origin of which goes back to the "style sheet" first published in 1951; Books for College Libraries, 3d ed. cites a previous edition. Writing style, abbreviations, proper citations, and formatting are covered, along with new material on citing electronic information. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
(show less ) MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing
For more than half a century, the documentation style recommended by the Modern Language Association for scholarly manuscripts and student research papers has been widely adopted by academic journals, university and commercial presses, schools, college departments, and individual instructors. MLA style is used in humanities research throughout the United States and Canada and is recognized arou read more >>
For more than half a century, the documentation style recommended by the Modern Language Association for scholarly manuscripts and student research papers has been widely adopted by academic journals, university and commercial presses, schools, college departments, and individual instructors. MLA style is used in humanities research throughout the United States and Canada and is recognized around the world. The association publishes two works on its documentation style: the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (for high school and undergraduate students) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (for graduate students, scholars, and professional writers). Book jacket. (show less ) Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.
The fifth edition of the "APA Manual" is a new and improved style manual for read more >>
The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.
The fifth edition of the "APA Manual" is a new and improved style manual for writers and students in psychology and other behavioral and social sciences. This valuable reference tool gives writers easy-to-use guidelines on how to prepare manuscripts according to APA style.
(show less ) The Chicago Manual of Style
Long regarded as the essential reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field, the new fifteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been revised and updated with current style and writing in the electronic age, making it easier to use and more indispensable than ever.
The Elements of Style
Every English-language writer knows Strunk and White's famous little writing manual, The Elements of Style. Many people between the ages of seventeen and seventy can recite the book's mantra - make every word tell - and still refer to their tattered grade school copy when in need of a hint on how to make a turn of phrase clearer, or a reminder on how to enliven prose with the active read more >>
Every English-language writer knows Strunk and White's famous little writing manual, The Elements of Style. Many people between the ages of seventeen and seventy can recite the book's mantra - make every word tell - and still refer to their tattered grade school copy when in need of a hint on how to make a turn of phrase clearer, or a reminder on how to enliven prose with the active voice. Considering that millions of copies have been sold to millions of devotees, you might not think to ask what could enhance this (almost) perfect classic. In fact, the addition of illustrations allows readers to experience the book's contents in a completely new way, making the whole learning experience more colorful and clear, as well as adding a whimsical element that compliments the subtly humorous tone of the prose. The Elements of Style Illustrated will come to be known as the definitive, must-have edition. (show less )
Web Links- A+ Research & Writing Guide from Teen Space at Internet Public Library
This is a great multi-layered one stop guide to writing and research. The site invites you to click on the table of contents first, and we recommend that you do this. The links are very well organized, and include guides on how to do research in the library as well as online.
- Citation Style Guide Links from Georgia Tech Library
An organized set of links to general citation guides, specific online style guides (APA, MLA, etc.), and bibliographic management tools. - University of Georgia Research Guide
This is a one stop research guide from the University of Georgia libraries. While book and article searching will point you toward the UGA catalog, you can make notes of useful titles and check the DCPL catalog. There are also useful web links, including a fast facts section for quick searching.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional
information.
|