Are you interested in starting a small business, or are you already running one and need more information? This subject guide can help. It points you to useful items in our collection and directs you to helpful databases that can be accessed from your home or office.
Also, check out the DCPL Business page to learn how to legally set up a company, write a business plan, hire and manage personnel, market your business and research your industry and your competitors. You will also find current local business news, links to local networking events, and a wealth of information on how to make your small business thrive.
Last updated 07/12/2010
- Business Insights: Essentials
Comprehensive business tool including periodical articles, corporate information, investment reports, and industry and company rankings.
- Business Plans Handbook
Contains sample business plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries.
- Birthing the Elephant: the Woman's Go for It! Guide to Overcoming the Big Challenges of Launching a Business
Customized for the female entrepreneur's unique psychological experience of launching a business, this title goes beyond logistics to prepare women for the emotional challenges they will face, with expert advice on reshaping one's business identity, giving up the paycheck mentality, anticipating problems, and avoiding costly mistakes.
- Business: The Ultimate Resource
A management manual for executives, entrepreneurs, administrators, educators, and students alike.
- Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
A comprehensive listing of business related finding aids including abstracting and indexing services, almanacs and yearbooks, bibliographies, biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias and dictionaries. Also includes listings for statistical sources, trade associations and professional societies. This is a reference title and must be used in the library.
- How to Start a Business In Georgia
Learn about the federal and state laws that accompany starting a new business.
- LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
A national directory of public and private companies. This is a reference title and must be used in the library.
- MPA. Market Profile Analysis
Consumer and business demographic reports for Atlanta, Sandy Springs, Marietta. This is a reference title and must be used in the library.
- Small Business Sourcebook
Look here for specific small business profiles and general small business topics. This is a reference title and must be used in the library.
- Start Your Own Business: The Only Start Up Book You'll Ever Need
From the editors ofEntrepreneurmagazine. takes you step by step through the startup journey and guides you through the first three years of business ownership.
- The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting Your Own Business
Coverage includes getting started with the right business, finding funding, and descriptions of the various types of corporations. Marketing, increasing sales, production plans, personnel and payroll are also discussed.
- The Small Business Start- Up Kit
This book explains, in plain English, how to choose from among the basic types of business organizations, write an effective business plan, file the right forms with the right agencies, and acquire good bookkeeping and accounting habits.
The U.S. Government's one-stop virtual marketplace. Through this single point-of-entry, commercial vendors and government buyers are invited to post, search, monitor and retrieve opportunities solicited by the entire Federal contracting community.
- Minority Business Development Agency
The Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce and is the only federal agency created specifically to foster the establishment and growth of minority-owned businesses in America.
- U.S. Business Advisory
If you are self-employed, you will find a weath of information here. Topics include finding money for your venture and complying with business laws.
- U.S. Small Business Administration
The U.S. Small Business Administration website includes a small business planner that will help manage your business from start to finish. Site also includes information to help expand your business and tools to increase your business knowledge and productivity.
This site provides information for women business owners who are interested in doing business with the federal government.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional