Home arrow Research arrow Subject Guides

Subject Guides Print E-mail

Jobs/Careers

Are you looking for a job, or to broaden your career prospects? Would you simply like to know more about a career before investing yourself in preparation for it? This subject guide can help. It covers information on different types of careers, resume and cover letter resources, and preparation tools for jobs requiring a standardized test. Also, please note that the Library offers events for job seekers to gain helpful skills.

Last updated 10/04/2013

Databases

  • Georgia Career Information Center

    Current and accurate occupational and educational information, from Georgia State University.

  • Job and Career Accelerator

    LearningExpress Job & Career Accelerator™ provides personalized, step-by-step job search assistance - from exploring and matching suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles to finding available jobs from a database of over 5 million up-to-date job postings. With Job & Career Accelerator, you can easily create professional and effective resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, improve your work skills, and prepare for occupation-related exams. It also helps you plan, tailor, and track your progress for multiple job searches while providing expert advice and tips at every step of the way.

  • Learning Express Library

    Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams based on official academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams--plus a special section on "Job Search & Workplace Skills."

  • Optimal Resume

    Use the Resume Builder to easily and quickly create an impressive, professional resume, which you can print, save and/or share online. Includes a variety of tools to help you create, present, manage, and share your work credentials, prepare for an interview, and more.

  • ReferenceUSA

    Use the U.S. Jobs/internships section to search for positions and to find information about the companies advertising the positions. This feature of ReferenceUSA is provided in collaboration with the job site Indeed.com.

Catalog Links

  • 101 Great Answers to the Toughest Interview Questions [eBook]

    Tough interview questions are inevitable in today's competitive job market. Ron Fry's 101 Great Answers to the Toughest Interview Questions has helped more than 500,000 job seekers pinpoint what employers are really asking with every question, and more importantly: what they want to hear in response. This no-nonsense guide will prepare you to leverage the trickiest questions to your  read more >>

  • 150 Best Jobs for a Secure Future

    Jobs with stability are in demand. More than ever, people want assurance that another recession, technological advances, or offshoring won't derail their career. This book reveals which occupations are most likely to sustain such situations. In just two steps, this book helps readers identify jobs that are secure in good and bad  read more >>

  • Cracking the New Job Market : The 7 Rules for Getting Hired in Any Economy

    Everyone knows that safe jobs and lifelong careers are long gone. So why do most job seekers and employment experts cling to outdated tactics for landing a good position?



  • Eliminated! Now What? : Finding Your Way from Job-Loss Crisis to Career Resilience

    The author is a senior consultant with the nation's leading outplacement firm, Lee Hecht Harrison. She has partnered with thousands of clients to help them overcome job loss and recession-proof their careers. In addition, she designs and delivers workshops to improve clients' interviewing and overall search skills. She has also trained more than 10,000 middle and senior managers in presentation skills and business writing.

  • The Essential Phone Interview Handbook

    Today more than ever, job candidates make initial contact with prospective employers 
via the telephone. Phone interviews are often the most unexpected facet of job interviewing, yet they are fast becoming the standard for employers when narrowing the pool of applicants and determining who will be invited for in-person interviews. The Essential Phone Interview Handbook covers: How to p read more >>

  • Federal Resume Guidebook : Strategies for Writing a Winning Federal Resume

    Since the 4th edition of this perennial big seller was released in 2007, the federal government has again completely changed the process for applying for federal jobs. Federal insider Troutman has the scoop on how to make the most of the government's new hiring processes and procedures, including dozens of sample resumes.



  • Gallery of Best Resumes : A Collection of Quality Resumes by Professional Resume Writers

    A showcase collection of more than 150 outstanding sample resumes and 30 cover letters representing the very best creations of professional resume writers. These one-of-a-kind, eye catching resumes cover jobs from all occupational groups and at all levels. Using the samples and Dr. Noble's writing tips, readers can create their own interview-landing resumes and cover letters. All resume  read more >>

  • The Quick Resume & Cover Letter Book : Write and Use an Effective Resume in Only One Day

    Americas leading job search and career guidance expert presents his definitive guide to resumes, offering well researched and proven techniques; a friendly, easy-to-follow design; and rock-solid advice to create outstanding resumes and, more importantly, use them effectively. The very easy-to-use first section of the book shows how to create a basic resume in about an hour and an improved re read more >>

  • Resumes for Dummies

    With tips on avoiding common resume-writing mistakes, this updated edition of "Resumes For Dummies" includes revised instructions for writing an inclusive core resume, tips on targeting a known position, new sample resumes for an increased total of 50, and much more.



  • Same-Day Resume : Write an Effective Resume in an Hour

    This book offers a quick, easy way to put together an effective resume in a hurry. While other huge tomes bog down the busy job seeker with too much information, this compact guide gives the reader the essential tools to apply for jobs on the fly. Same-Day Resume includes advice on cover letters, thank-you notes, online resumes, and job search strategies. This edition adds updated coverage o read more >>

  • Step-by-Step Cover Letters : Build a Cover Letter in 10 Easy Steps Using Personal Branding

    Finally, a companion to the groundbreaking Step-by-Step Resumes workbook! Step-by-Step Cover Letters uses a foolproof system of paragraph starters and an overall framework to help readers easily build outstanding cover letters that will get interviews and job offers. Professional resume writer and personal branding strategist Evelyn Salvador leads you through the steps of writing a compellin read more >>

  • Step-by-Step Resumes : Build an Outstanding Resume in 10 Easy Steps!

    A guide to building a resume includes a collection of thousands of resume keywords to make one's resume stand out in electronic databases and a section on integrating a resume into one's social-networking strategy.



  • Top 100 Careers Without a Four-Year degree : Your Complete Guidebook to Major Jobs in Many Fields

    Many Jobs without a four-year degree are growing. Explore 100 careers that don't require a bachelor's degree, assess which ones match your skills, and get the job you want quickly with this authoritative resource. In one time-saving volume, job seekers and students find everything they need to research careers; learn about pay, outlook through 2018, education, and skills for the 100  read more >>

  • Unbeatable Résumés : America's Top Recruiter Reveals What Really Gets You Hired

    What does Tony Beshara do thatmost résumé "experts" don't? While the experts write résumés all day, Tony read more >>

  • What Color is Your Paracute? : A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers

     What Color Is Your Parachute? is the world's most popular job-hunting guide, and it has helped millions discover their unique gifts, skills, and interests. This has allowed them to land a job even in hard times, and to create for themselves a new, interesting, and inspiring career and life. With fresh insights into resumes, networking, interviewing, salary negotiation, entrepreneur read more >>

Web Links

  • Job Seekers Events at the Library

    The Library holds regular events to help you with a variety of job seeking skills. Don't miss these helpful programs.

  • AJC Jobs

    Job listings from the Atlanta Journal/Constitution.

  • Atlanta Workforce Development Agency

    The Atlanta Workforce Development Agency (AWDA) is a bureau of the City of Atlanta under the Executive Offices of the Mayor. AWDA's primary purpose is to administer employment and training programs mandated under the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) of 1998 to the citizens of Atlanta to offer workforce solution services to the metro Atlanta businesses.

  • Career Builder

    Get advice or search for jobs, post your resume and more. 

  • CareerOneStop

    The U.S. Department of Labor's one-stop,source for employment information. The site has tools to help job seekers, students, businesses and career professionals. Also includes Career Info Net  and State Job Bank Links

  • Careers.GA.Gov

    The State of Georgia's official one-stop source for State Jobs and employment information.

  • DeKalb County Merit System

    Job opportunities with the DeKalb County Government.

  • DeKalb Workforce Development

    DeKalb Workforce Development is a non profit government agency dedicated to providing the residents of DeKalb County with the tools that are vital in securing and maintaining employment.

  • DeKalb Workforce Development Jobs Bus

    The Mobile Career Center (also called the "Jobs Bus") includes 13 computer stations and high-speed satellite Internet connection. The Center will provide residents with essential services, including job search assistance, resume writing, and interviewing tips. The bus schedule includes library locations and changes monthly.

  • Georgia Department of Labor - Job Information System

    Use Georgia's Job Information System to search for job openings listed directly with the Georgia Department of Labor.

  • Georgia Department of Labor - Job Seekers

    Information for job seekers compiled by the Georgia Department of Labor.

  • Georgia Governor's Office of Workforce Development

    The Governor's Office of Workforce Development (GOWD) was created to improve the job training and marketability of Georgia's workforce and drive future economic growth for the state.  GOWD Programs include Go Build Georgia, Veterans’ Employment Programs and Georgia Work Ready.

  • Glassdoor

    Glassdoor is a free jobs and career community that offers the world an inside look at jobs and companies.

  • Goodwill of North Georgia Career Centers

    Goodwill operates Career Centers across North Georgia. All Career Centers are open to the general public and equipped with people and resources to help job seekers and micro-business owners.

  • Indeed - Job Search

    Free access to millions of jobs and internships from thousands of job boards, newspaper classified ads and company websites.

  • Interviewing.com

    Provides interviewing resources for both interviewers and interviewees.

  • Job Star: Profession Specific Salary Surveys

    Links to many salary resources on the internet.

  • Job Star: Resumes & Cover Letters

    Tips on putting together your resume, along with sample cover letters.

  • LatPro

    Hispanic & bilingual jobs and diversity career board.

  • LinkedIn

    A social network for finding colleagues, classmates and insider connections when you're looking for a job or new business opportunity, as well as for asking question from industry experts.  Requires users to set up a free account.

  • Monster Board

    Search for jobs based on the field, the location, or by keyword.

  • Occupational Information Network (O*NET)

    Locate occupations based on your skills and abilities.

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook

    Online version of the popular Bureau of Labor Statistics publication which provides helpful career information.

  • Purdue Online Writing Lab: Workplace Writers

    Provides links to resources for workplace writers and people writing during the job search process.

  • The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet

    Find information on how to find jobs, research employers, create resumes and prepare for job interviews.

  • SalaryExpert

    Includes tools, such as salary and cost of living calculators. SalaryExpert is an affiliate of the Economic Research Institute.

  • Simply Hired

    Search for local jobs, and learn more about salary comparisons and employment trends.

  • US.jobs

    A variety of job listings by type, employer or region.

  • USA Jobs

    A free listing of government jobs and employment information sponsored by the United States Office of Personnel Management.

  • Vault

    Find information on employers and their rankings, industry blogs, message and job boards, and more.

Not all information available on this subject is listed; this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional information.

 

 

Recently on DCPLive…

Who We Are

We're a library serving DeKalb County, Georgia.

DeKalb County Public Library
Decatur Library, Main Branch
215 Sycamore Street
Decatur, Georgia 30030

Find Us On...

Our flickr Page Our Facebook Page Our Pinterest Page

Our YouTube Videos Our twitter Page
x

We Want to Hear From You

Please help us plan for the future by taking our survey. You can fill it out online or pick up a copy at any branch today. Thank you!

Yes, I would like to participate in the survey.

No, I've already participated in the survey.

No thanks.