Film & Television
There is a wide variety of material available on television and film. This subject guide focuses on books, databases and websites which cover a broad range of movies, programs, and the people associated with them. Particular attention has been given to classic films and TV shows.
Last updated 05/21/2013
- Biography Resource Center
You can search by name for TV and movie personalities and industry moguls. This database contains biographical sketches and links to magazine articles as well.
- ProQuest Newspapers
Here you can find full text articles on film and television from major newspapers.
- Encyclopedia of Television
The Encyclopedia of Television, second edtion is the first major reference work to provide description, history, analysis, and information on more than 1100 subjects related to television in its international context.
- Film Noir FAQ
Film Noir FAQ celebrates and reappraises some 200 noir thrillers representing 20 years of Hollywood's Golden Age. Film Noir FAQ brings lively attention to story, mood, themes, and technical detail, plus behind-the-scenes stories of the production of individual films. Featuring numerous stills and posters many never before read more >>
- Film-ol-o-gy: A Movie-a-Day Guide to a Complete Film Education
Film critic Chris Barsanti gives you the most entertaining crash course in good film in a book--one movie a day. Pairing cinema's lesser-seen gems alongside blockbusters, great early works from the pioneers of film alongside often-overlooked films from great directors, Barsant read more >>
- Leonard Maltin's 151 Best Movies You've Never Seen
What 151 movies have you never seen--but should?
- Nick at Nite's Classic TV Companion
Brought to you by the ultimate authority on Our Television Heritage -- here is the definitive entertaining reference to some of TV's enduring classics. With a flip of the page, the inside scoop on America's favorite TV sitcoms is at your fingertips. Nick at Nite's Classic TV Companion offers capsule descriptions of every episode of The Mary Tyler Moore Show, The Dick Van Dyke Show, I Love Luc read more >>
- Television's Second Golden Age
Thompson (coauthor of Prime Time, Prime Movers) argues that TV's so-called Golden Age of the 1950s does not equal television of the '80s and early '90s. He gives a short history of every decade and shows how government and social climate affected the programs aired, as for example under the Kennedy administration, networks were scrutinized by the FCC. He believes the renaissance of the '80s began read more >>
- The Literary Filmography: 6,200 Adaptations of Books, Short Stories and Other Nondramatic Works
A guide to English-language works that have been adapted as theatrical and television films, this volume includes books (both fiction and non-fiction), short stories, newspaper and magazine articles and poems. Entries are arranged alphabetically by literary title with cross-listings for films made under different titles. Each entry includes the original work's title, author, year of first publ read more >>
- The Rock & Roll Film Encyclopedia
The latest by Muir, author of numerous works on popular film, is a witty, riff-filled romp through rock- and popular music-related films, people, and genre conventions in post-1956 American and British cinema. Along with summaries of seminal rock films (both fictional and documentary), the book includes a category of entries on key rock/cinema figures (e.g., Elvis, Alice Cooper, Prince) and an idi read more >>
- The Women Who Made Television Funny
Tucker celebrates the female stars of 1950s sitcoms. Each of ten chapters profiles a particular actress, focusing primarily on her television career while noting her achievements in other areas. Coverage includes such stars as Lucille Ball (I Love Lucy), Gracie Allen (The George Burns and Gracie Allen Show), Ann Jeffreys (Topper), and Betty White (Life With Elizabeth). Cast and crew lists are f read more >>
- VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever
Reviews movies that are available on DVD or tape. Each entry includes title, alternate title, one-to four-bone rating, year released, MPAA rating, brief review, length, format, country of origin, cast, technical personnel, awards and made-for-television/cable/video designations.
- Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences awards the Oscars. Their site includes a listing of Oscar winners and nominees, and more about the history and legacy of film.
- Academy of Television Arts and Sciences
The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences awards the Emmy. Their site includes a listing of Emmy winners and nominees, and more about the history and legacy of television.
- Atlanta Film Festival
Atlanta Film Festival 365 is a non-profit with a mission to lead the community in creative and cultural discovery through the moving image. They host year round programs, such as screenings, discussions, workshops and other educational activities, for the community and industry professionals.
- Film and TV Production in Georgia
This site, hosted by the State of Georgia, presents information about filming in the states, as well as links to the Georgia Film and TV Sourcebook and listings of TV shows and films that feature Georgia.
- Films for the Humanities and Sciences
"As the leading provider of media for higher education, Films for the Humanities & Sciences creates and distributes world-class academic content for discerning educators. Films for the Humanities & Sciences is widely recognized as having the broadest and deepest range of content available."
This site focuses on independent films and filmmakers. It presents articles, reviews, interviews, links, discussion boards, and a daily newsletter.
- Internet Movie Database
This site advertises itself as the "biggest, best and most award winning movie and TV site on the planet." You can search for movies, TV shows, actors, and read reviews posted by fans.
Metacritic collects and aggregrates critics reviews, as well as user reviews, for movies and television shows.
- Motion Picture and Television Reading Room
The Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division (MBRS) of the Library of Congress collects, catalogs and preserves motion pictures and television collections. The Division operates the Motion Picture and Television Reading Room to provide access and information services to film and television professionals, archivists, scholars and researchers.
- Motion Picture Association
The Motion Picture Association website includes information on ratings system for both movies and television, press releases, and legislation.
- The Golden Years
This is another great site for classic movie fans. It contains information and images for directors, American, British and French actors and actresses, award and film lists, and poster and musicals links.
- Turner Classic Movies
The website for this popular cable television station offers scheduling for current and upcoming programs, movie news, and a book corner feature.
- TV Guide
This site includes TV listings, movie listings, photos, video, TV news, and discussion lists.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional