Voting and Elections
The Secretary of State's 2012 Election Calendar includes all voter registration deadlines and election dates plus information on how to register to vote. The Secretary of State also provides information for all Georgia voting and elections, including election results and statistics.
The DeKalb County Voter Information page has a list of Frequently Asked Questions along with a downloadable Voter Registration Application.
The DeKalb County Voter Registration Office telephone is 404-298-4020.
For reliable information on voting and the U.S. election process, see the sample listing of sources below. If you’re browsing the shelves inside a branch, look in the 324 range of the non-fiction section for books and audiovisual materials on the political process. Feel free to ask staff for further assistance.
Last updated 11/07/2012
- CQ Researcher
Offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues in the news, plus pro-and-con sections that illustrate both sides of controversial topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Provides information on social issues from all points of view. Includes topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, images, podcasts, and links to websites.
- How Do We Elect Our Leaders?
Almost any adult American citizen can run for public office and be chosen as a government leader. In this volume, students explore how we elect our government leaders, from the president of the United States and members of Congress to state governors and local mayors. Readers get a close-up look at the presidential race to the White House that takes place every four years and the role that p read more >>
- How do We Elect Our Leaders? [Spanish version] ¿Cómo elegimos a nuestro líderes?
Cómo se elige al presidente -- Elección de los miembros del Congreso -- Elección de funcionarios estatales -- La importancia de votar.
- National Elections and the Political Process
Presents an exciting look inside the workings of the United States election system. The book explores topics such as the struggles of minorities and women to gain the right to vote, the origins of the electoral college, and the process of electing national, state, and local leaders in government.
- The People and the Ballot [sound recording]
This Modern Scholar audio course provides an understanding of how American politics work and can help make sense of election results and political trends.
- DeKalb County Voter Registration & Elections
Go to this site if you need an application to register to vote or a printable absentee ballot application. You can also view sample ballots leading up to elections, and find your polling place.
Nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" site for voters. Examines the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.
- Georgia Poll Locator-My Voter Page
Not sure if you’re registered to vote? Know you’re registered, but can’t remember where your poll location is? Check the My Voter Page from the Georgia Secretary of State.
- Georgia Secretary of State-GA Election Results
Current plus archive or previous election results in Georgia and election statistics.
- League of Women Voters
A nonpartisan political organization that encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government. Local leagues include the Georgia and DeKalb County and Atlanta-Fulton Leagues.
- OpenSecrets.org [Center for Responsive Politics]
Nonpartisan guide to money’s influence on U.S. elections and public policy.
- Project Vote Smart
Tracks performance of political leaders at the federal and state levels, including issue positions, voting records, campaign finances, and evaluations by special interest groups.
- Roll Call Politics
Nonpartisan site for breaking political news and links to stories of interest in major newspapers and newsmagazines.
- U.S. Commission on Presidential Debates
Includes official transcripts of past debates and information on how candidates are selected for inclusion in these debates.
- U.S. Electoral College
Information about the Electoral College, straight from the federal government.
- U.S. Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Read up on the laws governing campaign finance. Allows you to search the FEC campaign contribution disclosure database by candidate or by individual donor.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional