The Obama Administration introduced a comprehensive Financial Stability Plan to get our economy back on track. The Making Home Affordable Program is part of that plan.
Get informed about the foreclosure process, learn where to find legitimate advice, and stay abreast of news related to the housing market. If you are facing foreclosure or the threat of foreclosure, these resources can help.
Last updated 06/01/2010
- CQ Researcher
Offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of issues in the news. Research the mortgage crisis and learn about current and proposed policies relating to the housing market.
- Magazines at EBSCOHost
Search for articles about the financial and housing markets from general interest and business magazines.
- Newspaper Source at EBSCOHost
Search for housing and financial news published in national, international and regional newspapers, such as The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Chicago Tribune, and more.
- Newspapers at ProQuest
Another source for articles from major newspapers. Includes The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.
- American Foreclosure
Whether you're trying to protect your home from foreclosure or invest in foreclosed properties, you need reliable information and expert advice to protect your investment. Drawn from years of experience helping thousands of borrowers, American Foreclosure covers all the ins and outs of foreclosures, for both homeowners and real estate investors nationwide.
- Fight Foreclosure!
This book explores options and alternatives available to you when you can't make your monthly mortgage payment but want to avoid foreclosure. The author explains the pre-foreclosure process, using real life examples of families faced with foreclosure, their choices, and the steps/missteps taken. The book provides an easy-to-understand explanation of delinquency, default, and foreclosure fr read more >>
- Foreclosure Self-Defense for Dummies
This practical, no-nonsense guide helps you size up your options and increase your chances of saving your home. You’ll find out how to delay foreclosure, form a plan of attack, negotiate solutions with your lender, and restore your financial health. You’ll also find field-tested strategies for dodging the foreclosure trap, getting out from under a house you really can’t afford read more >>
- Foreclosure Survival Guide
If you're having trouble making your mortgage payments or are already in jeopardy of foreclosure, The Foreclosure Survival Guide gives you the practical information you need, step by step.
- Credit Counseling Agencies Approved by the Department of Justice
Search for an approved credit counseling agency in your area. You can also search for agencies that provide counseling in languages other than English.
- Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Foreclosure Resource Center
Includes links to foreclosure assistance provided by a number of government agencies. Relevant publications are also availalbe here in their Foreclosure Resource Center.
- Homeowner’s Hope Hotline - Homeownership Preservation Foundation
Free telephone counseling is available from this independent nonprofit foundation at 888-995-HOPE. HUD-approved counselors will give advice and help set up a plan of action to avoid foreclosure. The site also provides access to online counseling in conjunction with the Consumer Credit Counseling Service.
- Housing Authority of DeKalb County
Information about landlord and tenant responsibilities in DeKalb County's low-cost housing programs.
- HUD - Approved Housing Counseling Agencies in Georgia
The Department of Housing and Urban Development sponsors housing counseling agencies that can provide advice on buying a home, renting, defaults, foreclosures, credit issues, and reverse mortgages. Browse the list of agencies in Georgia, or search by various options including language or zip code. Information for other states also included.
- HUD Guide to Avoiding Foreclosure
Whether you're in foreclosure now or worried about it happening in the future, HUD has the information you need. Includes an overview of the foreclosure process, a guide on how to communicate with your lender, and a glossary of terms.
- Legal Aid-Georgia
Georgia’s guide to free legal information contains a section on Foreclosure and Predatory Lending. Select the Housing topic from the home page.
- Making Home Affordable
Part of the Obama Administration's Financial Stability Plan to get our economy back on track.
- Money Matters from the Federal Trade Commission - Your Home
Tips about mortgages, including foreclosure rescue scams.
- Mortgage Foreclosure Debt Relief Act of 2007 Fact Sheet
A guide compiled by the IRS that outlines the income tax consequences of foreclosures and debt cancellations.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional