General Health and Wellness
The databases, books and websites recommended here primarily contain information about various aspects of health and wellness, including illnesses, treatments, drugs, nutrition and healthy living. Most books, DVDs or audiobooks in the Library are in the 610-619 call number range of the non-fiction section.
Last updated 04/12/2013
- Alt HealthWatch
Focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Consumer Health Complete
Includes reference books, physician-generated videos, medical images, diagrams and more. Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
- 52 Small Changes : One Year to a Happier, Healthier You
Whether as New Year’s resolutions, birthday wishes, or daily promises, most everyone vows at some point to make a major life change. But change is easier said than done, especially when it comes to better managing our wellness amidst the chaos of everyday living.
- American Medical Association Complete Guide to Prevention and Wellness
For general readers, this comprehensive guide from the American Medical Association gives advice on how to prevent diseases and stay healthy. It details the steps to take to prevent heart disease, stroke, type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, infections, some forms of cancer, and other diseases, by making lifestyle changes relating to nutrition, exercise, weight loss, lowering stres read more >>
- Dr. Chopra Says: Medical Facts and Myths Everyone Should Know
WE'VE ALL SEEN THE HEADLINES: The Pill That Can Prevent Cancer! A Guaranteed Way To Avoid Alzheimer's Disease! The Food That Lowers Bad Cholesterol! BUT WHAT SHOULD WE BELIEVE? ONCE UPON A TIME, maintaining your health seemed relatively simple. But today we're barraged by a never-ending array of conflicting medical advice. It's all terribly confusing, and most of us aren' read more >>
- If It Makes You Healthy: More than 100 Recipes Inspired by the Seasons
Known as much for her youthful looks and natural chic as she is for her sunny and heartfelt songs, Sheryl has written a cookbook that is true to her style Rock star. Activist. Mother of two. How does Sheryl Crow have time to keep so healthy and fit? Sheryl knows how to eat right and deliciously thanks to personal chef Chuck White, affectionately known as "Chef Chuck." The duo met w read more >>
- The Power of Rest : Why Sleep Alone is Not Enough : A 30-Day Plan to Reset Your Body
Imagine feeling restored . . . refreshed . . . renewed Too many of us accept sluggishness and fatigue as the inevitable side effects of hectic lives-but Dr. Matthew Edlund shows us there is a better way. After years of clinical research and consultations with hundreds of patients, he realized that many people aren't just sleep-deprived, they're rest-deprived. Our hearts, minds, and c read more >>
- T.O.'s Finding Fitness
Terrell Owens helps make the mind, body and spirit connection for total health.
- The End of Illness
Can we live robustly until our last breath? Do we have to suffer from debilitating conditions and sickness? Is it possible to add more vibrant years to our lives? In The End of Illness , David B. Agus, MD, one of the world's leading cancer doctors, researchers, and technology innovators, tackles these fundamental questions, challenging read more >>
- AIM Docfinder
Contains the licensing background and disciplinary information of physicians and other health care practitioners. From Administrators in Medicine (AIM), the national nonprofit organization for state medical and osteopathic board executives.
- CDC-Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Consumer Reports Best Buy Drugs
A public education project on prescription medicines from Consumer Reports. Also, see other information included on different topics.
- DeKalb County Board of Health
Public health resource for DeKalb County. Includes the capability to search for DeKalb County restaurants, hotels and swimming pools--and see the results on their latest Health Inspection Reports.
- Dirline-Directory of Health Organizations
Contains location and descriptive information, including current contact information and website addresses, for a wide variety of health organizations. Search by keywords. From the National Library of Medicine.
- Drug Digest
Noncommercial, evidence-based, information on drugs and herbs. Includes pill images, drug comparisons and a convenient way to check for on drug interactions, plus more. From Express Scripts, Inc. (ESI), the nation's largest independent pharmacy benefit manager.
- FDA-United States Food and Drug Administration
From the federal agency responsible for protecting public health. This is the first place to look for information about food and product recalls. Plus other information, such as generic equivalents for your prescriptions.
One-stop access to U.S. Government avian and pandemic flu information. Includes options for information in Spanish, Chinese and Vietnamese. The site is managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
- Georgia Department of Community Health
The Georgia agency that provides services to help families and individuals stay healthy and self-sufficient.
- Georgia Division of Public Health
Information from the primary state agency that has the ultimate responsibility for the health of Georgia communities and the entire state population.
- Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner - Consumer Services
Provides assistance for persons dealing with insurance issues or complaints in Georgia. Includes a glossary of insurance terms and list of commonly asked questions with answers.
This site is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It also includes dietary and physical activity guidelines.
- Hospital Compare
Find information on how well hospitals care for patients with certain medical conditions. This site was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the Department of Health and Human Services, and others.
- LabTests Online
Includes lab test descriptions, screening guides and more. Organized by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC), this site is the product of a collaboration among professional societies representing the clinical laboratory community. Spanish-language version available plus other languages.
From the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. The mission of the site is to provide useful and up-to-date information and tools that reflect the expertise and standard of excellence of Mayo Clinic.
The best place to start for all types of health and wellness information. Search for specific information or browse the list of topics that cover common diseases and conditions as well as exercise and nutrition. Includes information on drugs and supplements, easy-to-understand tutorials, and links to clinical trials plus more. Updated daily. From the the U. S. National Library of Medicine. Spanish-language version also available.
From the United States Department of Agriculture, My Plate shows the five food groups that are the building blocks for a healthy diet using a familiar image—a place setting for a meal.
- National Institutes of Health
There are 21 health institutes and centers including the National Cancer Institute, National Institute on Aging, and the National Institute on Mental Health. Information on current medical research is found here.
Find information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety from various agencies of the U.S. federal government. Nutrition.gov is a service of the National Agricultural Library, Department of Agriculture. In Spanish also.
- Senior Health
The Library's Senior Health subject guide focuses on health information for older adults.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The U.S. government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
- WHO-World Health Organization
The directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters. Also available in Spanish plus other languages.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional