African American History
Are you looking for information for an African American history report? Then you have come to the right place! The library is filled with information on the many people, places, and events that are an important part of African American history.
Last updated 01/11/2013
- Biography in Context
Search for individuals with notable accomplishments in history, the arts, science and more.
- Grolier Online Passport
Includes content from the New Book of Knowledge and the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia.
- Kids Search
Specially designed search tool to help elementary and middle school students find information on a variety of topics.
- Student Resources in Context
Reference documents, articles and dictionary entries covering biography, history, social studies and more.
- African American Almanac
This reference work on the contributions of African Americans to the history and culture of the United States provides accessible reference and biographical information on a wide range of important events and people.
- African American Educators
Discusses the history of African Americans in education from the illegality of teaching slaves to read to the Supreme Court decision that struck down segregation in American education. Part of the 'Major Black Contributions from Emancipation to Civil Rights' series.
- African American National Biography
An eight volume reference set that profiles more than 4000 African Americans throughout history.
- Discovering Black America
This title for juvenile readers offers an unprecedented account of more than 400 years of African-American history set against a background of American and global events. The book includes first-person narratives drawn from diaries, written oral accounts, autobiographies, and interviews.
- Freedom in My Heart: Voices from the United States National Slavery Museum
This richly illustrated volume uses the remarkable artifacts, images, and documents of the United States National Slavery Museum to trace the entire history of slavery in North America. For more information on slavery in the United States, look for the call number 306.362 in the adult non-fiction area and J 306.362 in the juvenile non-fiction area.
- Inspiring African American Civil Rights Leaders
Profiles eight of the greatest leaders of the civil rights movement. Part of the African American Collective Biographies series for school aged readers. For more information on the civil rights movement, check J 973.049 for juvenile materials and 973.049 for adult materials.
- APEX Museum
The APEX (African American Panoramic Experience) Museum, located at 135 Auburn Avenue in Atlanta, is dedicated to "accurately interpreting and presenting history from an African American perspective in order to help all American and International visitors better understand and appreciate the contributions of African Americans to America as well as the world.'
- Auburn Avenue Research Library
The Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History is a special library of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System. It is the first public library in the Southeast to offer specialized reference and archival collections dedicated to the study and research of African American culture and history and of other peoples of African descent.
- Celebrate Black History at Biography.com
Watch videos about important figures and events in African American history. Includes content on inventors, school integration, the Harlem Renaissance and African American firsts.
- Encyclopedia Britannica’s Guide to Black History
Extensive biographies, pictures, timelines and learning activities.
- Infoplease Black History Month
Find information on African American firsts, historical events, and contemporary issues.
- Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site
The Martin Luther King, Jr., National Historic Site includes a number of facilities that are operated in partnership with the National Park Service, Ebenezer Baptist Church and The King Center. Within these facilities the visitor can learn about Dr. King's life and and his influence on others.
- Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture Digital Collections
Part of the New York Public Library System, this site has a wealth of content documenting the African American experience. Listen to oral histories and panel discussions on contemporary issues. Or select one of the many online exhibitions to explore a topic in depth.
Not all information available on this subject is listed;
this is intended as a broad overview of this topic. Please ask at the
reference or circulation desk if you need help locating additional